Documentary

My interview for University (for which I still haven’t heard back from) called for me to reprioritise my workload for my showreel.  Consequently, progress on the documentary has been non existent.  So now I’ve got a show reel, a 3 minute short and two music videos in the rough cut and additional shooting stage.  My documentary has one page of research on atheism from months ago…Documentary Research.  The original plan was to produce a 10 minute mockumentary dealing with door to door atheists.  The more I thought about the concept the bigger it got in my head.  The exercise then was one of simplification.  Now with 2 months to complete the documentary I find that I have absolutely no interest in the subject anymore.  I kept encountering problems that I didn’t feel qualified to fix.  Firstly there was the fact that I had no professional actors of comedians at my disposal at such short notice.  Every time I thought of something funny I worried if it would even translate.  Secondly, the more research I done on Christianity and atheism the more I realised that despite what I thought where some pretty funny observations, I didn’t know enough to lampoon correctly.  I now don’t feel confident that I can or even want to immerse myself in religion.  So I’ve been looking for something more within my wheelhouse. So the other night I’m doing research for my critical analysis lass when I come across a channel on youtube called What It All Meant which dealt with the overall meaning of films, television and video games.

Since it’s Daredevil weekend here’s an example…

 

 

The structure seems pretty simple.  Set up your point use the footage and on screen text to drive it home.  The reason I am into this whole film and television thing is because I’ve been obsessed with Joss Whedon’s Buffy The Vampire Slayer since I was 9 years old (19 years!)  So what could I talk about from Buffy The Vampire Slayer that could fill 10 to 12 minutes?  Simple…The Monomyth of Buffy Summers

all-seasons-buffy-the-vampire-slayer-6939528-800-698

laid out as…

Introduce the monomyth and Joseph Campbell with modern examples of Luke Skywalker and Neo.

Joss Whedon’s intention with the character

final girl (halloween and nightmare on elm street, Cabin In The Woods) to Ultimate girl

The Monomyth of Buffy Anne Summers

The Stages

That should do.  I’m going to enjoy this so much, it barely even feels like work.

 

Leave a comment